Continuing Vegan…

So yesterdays dinner didn’t go as planned. I was desperate to go and check out the Organic Store and Cafe (www.organicfoodsandcafe.com) to see just how much vegan food was on offer.  By the time I had got there, I had managed to get myself and my 19 month old stuck in traffic twice and missed the turn off twice also.  Dubai is not very easy to drive round!

So we eventually got there and were both famished.  I was really excited to try a vegan pizza for dinner but they had run out of soy cheese so I settled for vegetable spring rolls served with lentil salad.  Yum and very filling.  I have noticed that I am getting quite hungry more regularly so I am filling up on crudites a lot.  I have also cut out all coffee and am really only drinking water, spearmint tea or peach tea.  I have to plan out our menus for next week today so that I can go shopping over the weekend.  I also think that I am going to extend my challenge to a full month. 

Today I woke up feeling really energized – I am a bit tired because I went to bed late (precious time with husband and daughter) but managed to do a quick 3 km run before going to work.  I felt great – the first 1 km was a toughie as usual but it got better,  And there were people out there too!  Happy people!  Giving me thumbs up, smiling and saying good morning.  What better way to encourage exercise that friendly interaction and some good tunes on your i-pod.

Anyway, sorry, I do have a terrible habit of digressing.  Vegan stuff in the shop.  Not much. Well, actually, there were a few things but not what I was after. I really wanted to buy some raw sugar (which I did get) and some vegan butter for my onion tart on Friday.  Vegan butter they did not have but I have just found the most awesome recipe for olive oil pastry.  Huzzah! 

Olive Oil Pastry Crust
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt or table salt
3/4 cup olive oil
1/2 cup warm water

In a medium mixing bowl, stir together flour and salt. Add olive oil and water and mix quickly with a fork until it all comes together in a ball.  Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

On a lightly floured board or a parchment-covered baking sheet, roll or pat out the dough into a 1/4-inch-thick circle or oval. Press into a 10-inch tart pan with a removable bottom or, for a more rustic look, place it flat on a parchment lined baking sheet. Prick all over with the tines of a fork (if baking flat, leave a 1-inch border around the edge un pricked).

I also started reading a blog by a guy called David (http://www.raptitude.com) who gives himself 30 day experiments…one of which was to go vegan for 30 days.  He writes:

 

To not eat healthy food because it’s “too expensive” is like not sleeping much because it’s too time consuming — yet that’s how some people operate.

How many times have I thought that to myself!  But only recently I said that my shopping bill was halved for the first week of this challenge.  This proves two things – being vegan can be cheap.  Lentils, beans, chickpeas etc are quite cheap but vegan processed food such as soy and quorn is expensive.  Therefore, find a balance. 

Leave a Reply

