5 K preparation and a bit of stagnation…

3 more days until my first run.  The last time I did anything like this was when I was 16 and did a fun run of 3 km in my local town of Crosby, Liverpool.  I can hardly say that I have been training hard for this one, but I am getting there.

Things have been quite stagnant at the moment – I think it is because the winter season is on its way and I always associate that with crock pot food, hanging out with friends, thanksgiving, Christmas, and many other delights.

My weight hasn’t shifted much but my measurements are decreasing – which is a good thing.  I bought some clothes that are slightly too small.  Usually I don’t do that as it is generally associated with negativity.  But, as usual, I am flipping it on it’s head and I want to make it a positive.  I have one more dress size to get down to on my top half and two more on my bottom half.

My mum came out last week for a few days – it was, as always, wonderful to have her with us.  Especially during this time in Dubai – the weather is just perfect.  We took my little daughter to the beach early on in the morning and it was breathtakingly beautiful.  When you get into a routine, sometimes it is difficult to remember the beauty that surrounds you.  Usually I am not particularly enamoured with Dubai, but this season makes that change.

So, what after this 5 k?  Well, it will be a 10 k!  My beautiful friend Kathy is training with me to run this.  I think that we have decided that the 5 k is just something to get under our belt and into the habit of doing some running.  I am not, by any means, Usain Bolt, nor do I ever aspire to be (he is a sprinter, after all!) but I am improving.  I find it easier now, for example, to run without music.  In the beginning I thought I would die without it – music then, was a distraction.  Music now is a reminder – on average, it takes about 3 minutes for a song to play – and when you are conscious of that, you are conscious of how slow, or how long your run is!  So music, at the moment, is a no no.

The 10 k (which is part of the Standard Chartered Dubai Marathon) is being held on January 25th at 7:15 am.  That gives us about 11 weeks to work on it.  Susie’s running programme on http://www.kissmyblackass.org in training for a 10 km run is 6 weeks long.  So, after our run on Friday (the 5 k) we will build up our time and distance for 2/3 weeks; then do Susie’s 6 week programme and finish off with 2 weeks before the actual event to work on distance etc.

I am quite excited about getting going on this.  I am excited to have a new plan to work from, to print it off, laminate it, and every time I complete something, to give myself a big, fat star!  I did that for the C25K programme and it was so motivational.

I am so blessed to have some really close friends out here – my lovely Raheela, Maria, Elena, Kathy, Kelly, Yvonne…but to name a few!  And I am so lucky to have lovely friends and family around the globe, who I miss so much – Jami, Kristin, Vicki, Debbie.  I so wish that they would hurry up and invent a transporter like on Star Trek so I could visit them in an instant (although 8 hours away on a flight is actually pretty good!).

I am feeling so happy and balanced.  I have never felt healthier.  Alhamdoolillah, I haven’t been sick in the longest time and I feel so blessed with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

