So why Dukan in the Desert?

I met a lady who joined my work a few months back.  She had had bariatric surgery which involved removing 85% of her stomach to form a ‘sleeve’.  She introduced me to others who had had the surgery and to those who were considering it.  My husband and I were not very happy at the time – he could clearly see that I was putting on weight and it just wasnt working for us.  He blamed my problems and attitudes on my weight and I blamed them on him. So, I booked an appointment with the surgery and set a date.  But it just didn’t sit right with me.  The main thing was, I couldnt find it in me to tell my mum.  I prayed and prayed to find an answer and then, following that, I had a meeting with my boss.  We have a good working relationship.  Once the formal stuff was out of the way, she just looked at me and said “Seriously, what the hell are you doing?  Why are you having this surgery?  I am going to lose you and your spirit if you go ahead with it” I burst into tears and I realised she was right.  It was such a relief to hear that from her that I cancelled the surgery moments later.  I had had a very difficult year with a new baby, adjusting to motherhood and having to return to work only 6 weeks after she was born was really tough for me.  UAE law.  Joy. Plus, I was so worried about not being able to even lift my daughter for a few weeks after the surgery.  I am one of the most tactile people I know!  No surgery was worth that.  So, I decided to take control.  I told my friends that I would give myself a year to try.  I mean really try.  With no psychological bullshit or influences.  Just me, diet and exercise.

I started exercising properly about 20 weeks ago.  I stumbled upon the C25K programme and totally fell in love with it.  Short, simple sweet training programme on non consecutive days with some great accompanying podcasts.  It is interval training at its finest for beginners.  I heard that a friend was running a half marathon in January 2013 and I really wanted to do it.  I dont think that I will get there for the half marathon but she did say that there was a 10k also.  I decided that that was going to be my next goal:  to be fit enough to run the 10k by January.

So I completed the first 10 weeks – at the end of the programme, you are able to either run for 30 mins or run 5k.  I was doing it on the treadmill, so did the time as opposed to distance.  I started doing core training and some weights.  I got back into squash a little bit (turns out that I am quite good!) and have started playing tennis about twice a week with the husband.  I designed a stage 2, 10 week programme which focuses on distance.  It is taking me from 3k to 5k in 10 weeks.  After that, I will start working on the 5-10k programme which is a similar set up to the C25K.  I also do balance ball exercises weekly too,  and I feel so much better.  I get such a rush when I run!  Especially when certain songs or parts of songs come blasting through.  I love music – it is such a drive and can push you much farther than you think you can go.

For the first time in my life today, I had to look through my wardrobe to find something that wasnt too big!  I know that I still have a way to go, but WOW!  What a feeling!  The very fact that my top clothes size is now again in the ‘teens’ blows me away.

Anyway, my weight started to stagnate after a while. And I was still eating a lot of goodies.  One day my husband picked me up from school.  He had a bag from Borders and I asked him if it was a gift for me (I was joking).  He said it was and it turned out to be the Dukan recipe book…I was livid at first and thought he was trying to insult me.  Then I started reading through it (after some subtle encouragement from my friend who was in the car with us at the time!) and found that it looked great and was kind of similar to what I was doing at the time.  Next day, I checked it out on line and just jumped in and bought the online coaching.

For me, it seems to be doing well, but its only been 12 days.  I gotta keep the protein and veg only days up until January.  Recipes are fab though and it has really got me back into cooking again – I even made fat and sugar free chocolate pudding the other day.  Delish.  I have way more energy and my tastes are changing a lot.

And this is why its all called Dukan in the Desert.

Leave a Reply

