Day 1 of blogging – You can with Dukan!

This is my year – well, my academic year, as in the year that starts in August and ends in June.  At the beginning of April, I realised that it was time to get fit and healthy.  For me, yes, but for my daughter and husband too.  After years of self abuse through overeating, I am finally able to grasp a hold of things.

I remember when my comfort eating began.  I must have been about 5 or 6 but I am sure it started earlier.  Having a psychologically abused upbringing can do that to you.   I could go on and on about the abuse , but unless you have been in the same situation, you are just not going to understand.  We lived in Hong Kong during my childhood and then at the age of 11, I was shipped off to boarding school –  it was made sound like an Enid Blyton adventure.  It wasn’t.  I was bullied incessantly for years, then switched to another boarding school where a teacher interfered with me – I never told anyone, because I was 16, and in the UK, that is legal.  I failed my first year of A levels and switched schools again, to move back to Liverpool to live with my mum.  That was a wonderful time – we had some turbulent moments, but still…it was wonderful being at home with her and my brothers.  As the years went on, it became worse and worse and I indulged my pain in food and alcohol.  Nothing was said.  Nothing is said now.  Dont get me wrong, I know that people have gone through far worse than what I have ever been through, but this is my blog, not theirs.  I could tell you more of the story, but I really don’t want to.

And this is MY time.  My time for change.  My time for growth and success.  And, for the first time in my life, I am excited to write about it.  I am not by any means the most graceful or eloquent of writers but that’s o.k.  You don’t have to read this if you don’t want to.  But if you do, welcome to the journey.  Perhaps I will be able to inspire others.  You never know!  Please enjoy and feel free to comment.  Have a bright and blessed day.  Until next time. xx

One thought on “Day 1 of blogging – You can with Dukan!

  1. You are a strong woman and I admire you for it. You also have a kick ass personality! Perhaps that is one of the many positive attributes that has helped you through. And the fact that you are positive and striving for good. Bless you my dear…and how I miss you!

Leave a Reply

